Desoto county cities close restaurant dining facilities

By Aaron Rice
March 23, 2020

The Desoto county cities of Southaven and Olive Branch became two of the latest cities in the state to require restaurants to close their dining facilities and move to take-out or delivery services only in an effort to combat the spread of coronavirus transmission.

The city's held emergency meetings on Sunday, according to the Desoto Times-Tribune. The county also issued a proclamation, but it is just a recommendation to close bars and restaurants, similar to the recommendation from the state.

Along with Olive Branch and Southaven, the following local governments have enacted similar restaurant bans: Oxford, Jackson, Tupelo, Moss Point, Biloxi, Gulfport, Ocean Springs, Houston, Forrest county, Hattiesburg, Columbus, Starkville, Hancock county, Bay St. Louis, Diamondhead, Waveland, and Vicksburg.

So far, Tupelo is the only city in the state with a 'shelter-in-place' ordinance requiring all non-essential businesses and all non-essential residents to stay at home. Residents would still be able to travel to the grocery store, medical facilities, restaurants, hardware stores, daycares, and gas stations. 

Similar orders cover the states of California, Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, and Oregon, as well as a number of large cities nationwide.


magnifiercross linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram