$1,000 fine, 6 months in jail for not wearing a mask?

By Aaron Rice
July 9, 2020

Numerous cities throughout Mississippi have face mask requirements. And you could be fined or sent to jail for violating such orders, while businesses could be shut down. 

The mask issue has become increasingly political with Democratic mayors in Mississippi attacking President Donald Trump and Gov. Tate Reeves for not taking a harder stance on the issue. While there isn’t a statewide order, the state is requiring masks in select counties that have seen a more widespread outbreak. This includes Attala, Jasper, Lauderdale, Leake, Neshoba, Newton, and Scott counties. 

Cities with mask ordinances include Jackson, Tupelo, Starkville, Oxford, Hattiesburg, Greenwood, Columbus, West Point, Natchez, Grenada, and Greenville, along with a smattering of smaller cities. 

The punishment for not wearing a mask varies. 

Jackson residents could be fined $300 and sent to jail for six months. Businesses could be shut down for a day. The fine in Canton is steeper. For individuals it’s $500, and $1,000 for businesses. In Columbus and Greenwood, you can be fined up to $1,000. 

The $1,000 fine applies to businesses in Oxford. So far, they have hit at least 12 businesses in the city. 


magnifiercross linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram