Mask order extended and expanded

By Aaron Rice
July 20, 2020

The order mandating masks in public places has been extended for two more weeks and expanded to an additional 10 counties.

Gov. Tate Reeves signed the updated executive order yesterday. The face mask requirement is now in place in the following counties: Bolivar, Claiborne, Covington, Desoto, Forrest, Grenada, Harrison, Hinds, Humphreys, Jackson, Jefferson, Madison, Panola, Quitman, Rankin, Sharkey, Simpson, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tate, Walthall, Washington, and Wayne counties. 

Under the order, all retail businesses are required to mandate that all employees and customers wear a mask. For people in public, everyone must wear a mask when in a public setting. Additionally, groups are now limited to no more than 10 indoors and no more than 20 outdoors. 

Those who violate the order could face a fine of up to $500 and/ or six months in jail. State, county, and local law enforce, as well as government entities, may enforce the order. 

The new order expires on August 3 unless it is extended prior to that time.


magnifiercross linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram